2021 Golf Tournament

Home > 2021 Golf Tournament

2021 Golf Tournament

Home > 2021 Golf Tournament

September 13th was a beautiful autumn day for the Annual Headingley Chamber Community Golf Tournament as a full roster of 120 golfers hit the links at Breezy Bend Country Club. It was great to see such an excellent turnout to help support the Chamber’s Leaders of Tomorrow Youth Scholarship Fund.

At registration, golfers received a beautiful fuzzy fleece blanket as a tee gift. The Chamber would like to acknowledge Taillieu Construction for being the tournament’s presenting sponsor and Fast Plumbing & Heating and The Gates on Roblin for once again being the tournament’s scholarship sponsors.

Everyone enjoyed a great BBQ boxed lunch that was sponsored by Qualico Communities before heading out to his or her designated tee box for a 12:30 pm shotgun start. Golf carts were provided by Crane Steel Structures.

As the golfers made their way from Hole #18, they were given the opportunity to participate in the putting contest sponsored by Fanset Construction. With a score of 33, Paul Fast won the putting contest and received a Taylor Made Deluxe Cart Bag. Nick and Nikki’s Group of Dairy Queens treated golfers to delicious ice cream Dilly Bars at the putting contest.

The support from the business community was outstanding with all available sponsorships being spoken for! Thank you to the 18 different hole sponsors: RM of Headingley, River City Ford/River City Collision, Pioneer Window & Glass, RBC Parkhill & Portage Branch, Motel Six, Community Futures White Horse Plains, New Generation Homes, King’s Services, Total Storage, Noventis Credit Union, Rempel Insurance, Breezy Bend Country Club, Modular Building Solutions, Assiniboia Downs, Loren Realty, Headingley Sport Shop, Ladco Land Development and The Gates on Roblin.

All golfers had the opportunity to win $10,000 at the Hole-in-One contest sponsored by Motel Six at Hole #5. Headingley Sport Shop offered a Sportsman 5 70 Quad as the prize at the Hole-in-One Contest on Hole #16.

There were 3 individual contest holes and each winner received a $50 gift certificate from the Breezy Bend Pro Shop. Lindsay Mysak won the ladies’ longest drive contest on Hole #15 that was sponsored by Loren Realty. Ryan Butterfield was the winner of the men’s longest drive contest sponsored by Community Futures White Horse Plains at Hole #6. CFWHP also held a draw for a deluxe folding lawn chair that was won by Jack Bell. Rempel Insurance sponsored the straightest drive contest on Hole #11, which was won by Bryan Miller.

As the golfers played their way around the 18 holes, they were able to take part in several fun contests and received refreshments, individual goodie bags and products from the various individual hole sponsors. At Hole #2 golfers found out how difficult (and how much fun) it was to drive a marshmallow! Jay Jackson was the winner of a prize package worth $275 provided by River City Ford/River City Collision. Doreen Fanset and Brody Blair each won a $100 prizefrom Pioneer Window & Door at Hole #3 for driving closest to the window frame. Pioneer Window also gave each golfer a can of window cleaner. Total Storage (Hole #9) offered players a chance to win a discount on a storage unit and Noventis Credit Union (Hole #10) gave each player a goodie bag filled with merchandise and treats. Noventis Credit Union also held a draw for a gift basket that was won by Andrei Friesen. Golfers received a free beer compliments of Breezy Bend Country Club on Hole #12. Every golfer was treated to prime rib sliders and sangria at Hole #18 by The Gates on Roblin.

Thank you to all the on-course volunteers and to the Chamber’s volunteers of Breanne Klockow, Sean O’Dowda, Ray Louie, Dave White and Val Chatain-White for making this year’s tournament a huge success!

As golfers entered the banquet hall, each person received a free drink ticket courtesy of the reception sponsor, The Gates on Roblin.  The chefs at Breezy Bend Country Club provided a delicious 3-course meal, which was sponsored by River City Ford/River City Collision. Thank you to Cory Johnson and the staff of Breezy Bend for such a fantastic event!

Thank you to the evening’s emcee, Gerry Minaker for doing a great job. The tournament awards and prizes were presented throughout the dinner along with the silent auction prizes. The contest card door prize, a Odyssey White Hot Putter donated by Breezy Bend Country Club, was won by Colby Kiss.

The team of Meaghan Leslie, Morgan Beaudry and Debbie Forgie were the “Most Honest Team” and each player received a $20 gift card from The Headingley Grill. John Danylchuk, Ian White, Avis Penner and Curtis Atkins were the team with the 3rd lowest score and each received a Breezy Bend Pro Shop $25 gift card. $50 Breezy Bend Pro Shop gift cards were awarded to the second lowest scoring team of Bill McGarry, Nathan Mehling, Gerald Theroux and Karl Loder. With a score of 56, this year’s tournament winners each received a $100 Breezy Bend Pro Shop gift card. Congratulations to the team of Gavin Johnstone, Nick Hagidiakow, Jesse Adamyk and Brian Dagg!

The Headingley Chamber would like to acknowledge and thank the following businesses for their donations: Columbia Insurance, The Gates on Roblin, Kuypers Lane Creations, Cory Johnson, Crampton’s Market, Gerry Minaker, Best Western Plus, Associated Auto Auctions, Breezy Bend Country Club, The Headingley Grill, Community Futures White Horse Plains, Motel Six, Headingley Community Foundation, Nick & Nikki’s Group of Dairy Queens, and the Headingley Times Community Newspaper.

Ray Louie, President of the Headingley Chamber of Commerce gave a short speech and presented a cheque in the amount of $5,000 to the Headingley Community Foundation. This donation will go towards the Chamber’s Youth Scholarship Fund that is managed by the Foundation. Each year the Chamber awards 3 – $1,000 scholarships to graduating students for post-secondary studies. It is from the continued generous support of the community members and businesses of this annual golf tournament that has helped to ensure the continuity of the scholarship program. We look forward to seeing everyone at next year’s tournament!