2020 Annual General Meeting

Home > 2020 Annual General Meeting

2020 Annual General Meeting

Home > 2020 Annual General Meeting

The 2020 Annual General Meeting was held at The Gates on Roblin on Wednesday, June 24th.  A special thank you to Ray Louie and his staff for the excellent food and superb service.  Ray Louie, on behalf of President Jade Wood, gave greetings from the Board of Directors to the 25 Chamber members present.

A special welcome was given to two new members.  Joining the Headingley Chamber are Ryan Fletcher of Re/Max Realty and Don O’Hara of Roblin West Law.

President Jade Wood stated that the Chamber is in good health with the current membership at 72, up from the 49 members when she joined in 2010.  Due to the challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Sip Happens event (April) and the Annual Golf Tournament (May) were both cancelled and the decision was made to postpone the publication of the bi-annual Headingley Directory until next year.  However, the 3-$1,000 Leaders of Tomorrow Youth Scholarships will still be awarded this year.  The deadline for applications was extended to July 31st, with the scholarship winners being decided in August.  Special thanks was given to Ray Louie for his generosity in hosting the Chamber Board of Directors meetings.

Mayor John Mauseth gave the yearly update on the RM of Headingley.  He commended the Headingley community and businesses for coming together during COVID-19.  In recognition of the economic difficulties posed, the RM has extended the deadline for 2020 property taxes to September 30th.

Mayor Mauseth spoke about the continued growth in both residential and commercial properties, the continuation of street repairs and paving of roads.  Fibre optic service will be coming to the businesses along Highway No. 1 in phase one with future phases to encompass the remainder of Headingley.  John Q. Public will be the service provider.

The Member-to-Member Affinity Program is growing.  There are now 3 exclusive offers for Headingley Chamber members.  Headingley Times, Motel Six and Best Western Plus have provided exclusive discounts to fellow Chamber members.  Full details are available on the website.  Any business member can participate and offer their own exclusive program.  If interested, please contact Cyndi at the Chamber office to discuss.

There were 2 new members elected by acclamation to the Board of Directors.  Joining the Board are Sean O’Dowda of Headingley Times/Cartier Times and Brittany Williams of Best Western Plus, Winnipeg West.

The 2020 Board of Directors are:

President                  Jade Wood                      Visual Works

Vice-President         Cory Johnson                  Breezy Bend Country Club

Treasurer                  Ray Louie                       The Gates on Roblin


Lori Thorsteinson         Parkhill Custom Homes/Loren Realty

Vladimir Zablotski         RBC, Portage & Parkhill Branch

Filippo Porpiglia            Crane Steel Structures

David Borowski              Assiniboia Downs

Brittany Williams            Best Western Plus, Winnipeg West

Sean O’Dowda                Headingley Times/Cartier Times

Executive Director       Cyndi Minaker               Headingley Chamber of  Commerce